
Event completed: The Northern Lights Casino Thanksgiving Powwow took place October 9-11, 2026 in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan. This page now preserves the verified 2026 agenda, Grand Entry times, contest payouts and event poster as an archive.
Quick details:
Dates: Friday, October 9 to Sunday, October 11, 2026
Location: Northern Lights Casino, 44 Marquis Road West, Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Grand Entries: Friday 6 p.m.; Saturday noon and 6 p.m.; Sunday noon
Status: Completed October 11, 2026
Admission: Not stated in the archived public event materials
Looking for more gatherings in the province? Browse Powwows in Saskatchewan, the 2026 Powwow Calendar and Powwows in Canada.
Northern Lights Casino Powwow 2026 dates and location
The Thanksgiving Powwow took place October 9, 10 and 11, 2026. Northern Lights Casino lists its address as 44 Marquis Road West, Prince Albert, SK S6V 7Y5 and says free parking is available.
This event is presented on the Northern Lights Casino website as a welcoming gathering featuring traditional singing, drumming, dancing and local artisans. Follow the host’s current instructions and arena announcements throughout the weekend.
2026 Grand Entry and registration times
| Day | Key times | Schedule highlights |
|---|---|---|
| Friday, October 9 | 3 p.m. pipe ceremony and registration opens; 6 p.m. Grand Entry; 9 p.m. registration closes | Daniels Family Special, intertribals, Women’s Fancy Special, Tiny Tots, junior, teen, Golden Age and adult categories |
| Saturday, October 10 | 9 a.m. pipe ceremony and registration opens; noon Grand Entry; 5 p.m. registration closes and supper break; 6 p.m. Grand Entry | Teen Teams Special, intertribals, Tiny Tots exhibition, junior, teen and Golden Age categories, Men’s Traditional Special, Men’s Fancy Spotlight Special and adult categories |
| Sunday, October 11 | 9 a.m. pipe ceremony; noon Grand Entry | Women’s Jingle Special, intertribals, Tiny Tots, giveaway, junior and teen finals, Wesmor High School Special, Golden Age finals and winners |
Schedules can change. Review the host’s official 2026 agenda before travelling and follow announcements at the event.
Northern Lights Casino Powwow 2026 prize money
The official payout sheet lists adult and Golden Age payouts of $1,000, $800, $600, $500 and $400 from first through fifth. Teen categories list $500, $400, $300, $200 and $100, while junior categories list $300, $200, $100, $75 and $50. Tiny Tots are paid daily.
The host also lists five specials totalling more than $27,000: Men’s Traditional, Women’s Jingle, Women’s Fancy, Men’s Fancy Spotlight and a three-dancer Teen Team Special.
Drum contest payout
| Place | Payout |
|---|---|
| 1st | $15,000 |
| 2nd | $10,000 |
| 3rd | $8,000 |
| 4th | $5,000 |
| 5th-8th | $3,000 each |
See the host’s official category and prize payout sheet for the complete division list.
What should visitors know?
- Arrive early for parking, seating and the start of Grand Entry.
- Listen to the MC and arena director. Protocol and photography guidance may be announced during the gathering.
- Use regalia, not costume, when referring to what dancers wear.
- Ask before photographing or recording individuals, and stop when the host requests no photography.
- Bring a flexible plan because contest order and timing can change.
Planning your trip to Prince Albert
Northern Lights Casino says it has free parking, Level 2 and Level 3 electric vehicle charging, and limited first-come, first-served RV parking for registered casino patrons age 19 and older. RV approval is handled through Guest Services or security; confirm the current rules directly with the casino.
Need a place to stay? Compare Prince Albert hotels and travel options.
Disclosure: Powwow Times may earn a commission from qualifying travel bookings at no additional cost to you.
First time at a powwow?
Read the Powwow Times first powwow visitor guide for information about arena etiquette, photography, Grand Entry and what to expect. You can also learn what a powwow is.
Northern Lights Casino Powwow FAQ
When was the Northern Lights Casino Powwow in 2026?
The Northern Lights Casino Thanksgiving Powwow ran Friday, October 9 through Sunday, October 11, 2026.
Where was the Thanksgiving Powwow in Prince Albert?
It took place at Northern Lights Casino, 44 Marquis Road West, Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.
What time was Grand Entry?
The archived agenda listed Grand Entry at 6 p.m. Friday, noon and 6 p.m. Saturday, and noon Sunday.
Was there a drum contest?
Yes. The official 2026 payout sheet listed eight drum contest places, led by $15,000 for first, $10,000 for second and $8,000 for third.
Was admission free?
The public event materials reviewed by Powwow Times did not state an admission price.
Northern Lights Casino Thanksgiving Powwow 2027
Not yet announced: The host has not published 2027 dates in the sources reviewed October 15, 2026. Follow the Northern Lights Casino website and return to this page for confirmed updates. Do not infer the 2027 weekend from the 2026 dates.
Official information
Use the Northern Lights Casino event page for host updates. The event agenda and payouts were verified from official Northern Lights Casino materials on October 7, 2026.